Frequently Asked Questions-Township Clerk
How and where do I get a certified copy of a vital statistic record?
A.The vital statistic record is on file in the municipality where the event took place, i.e. what town did you get married in? There is a $10.00 per certified copy fee, if obtained in Rockaway Township. You must produce a photo ID for proof of identity. You must also produce copies of documents proving your relationship to the person named on the record. The following are acceptable forms of ID: A current, valid photo driver’s license or photo non-driver’s license with current address OR a current, valid driver’s license without photo and one alternate form of ID with current address OR two alternate forms of ID, one of which must have current address. For further information or to print an application for a certified copy, please visit the State’s Web-site.
Where do I get a copy of a public record?
You may submit an OPRA (Open Public Records Act) request form to the Township Clerk. A request for access to a government record must be in writing and hand-delivered, mailed, transmitted electronically or otherwise conveyed to the Township Clerk’s office. A record request cannot be made verbally. The Township Clerk will fulfill a request as soon as possible but not later than seven (7) business days after the request is received, provided that the record is currently available and not in storage or archived. Day One is the day following the clerk’s receipt of the request. The fees for a government record are $0.05 per letter size page or smaller, and $0.07 per legal size page or larger. If the Clerk’s office can demonstrate that its actual costs for duplication exceed the foregoing rates, the Clerk is permitted to charge the actual cost of duplicating the record. For further information, please visit Opra and then click on “OPRA for the Public.”
What is needed for a marriage license, domestic partnership or civil union?
You need to apply in person in the New Jersey municipality in which either party resides and the license is valid throughout the State of New Jersey. You need to bring birth certificate or passport; proof of residency such as a lease, tax return etc. If married before or previously in a civil union or domestic partnership a copy of the death certificate or divorce papers, whichever applies. The fee is $28.00 in cash, check or money order. The application may be obtained at your local registrar’s office. A minimum of 72 hours must elapse between the time of application and the time we issue the license.
How do I register to vote?
You can obtain a voter registration application at the Municipal Clerk’s office or print one from the State’s website at State Web Site Click on “How Do I” and this will lead you to voter registration information and the application for the county in which ou live.
What do you need if your organization wants to have a Bingo or Raffle?
Every organization interested in conducting bingo or raffles must first apply to the Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission for eligibility. The applicant must qualify as a bona fide charitable, educational, religious, patriotic, or senior citizen association or club. Once registered with the Legalized Games of Chance Control Commission, the organization must file a license application for each separate type of game of chance it intends to conduct. The proper application, either Bingo or Raffle, must be filed in quadruplicate with the Township Clerk in the municipality where the games are to be held. There is a fee to the State of New Jersey, Legalized Games of Chance that must accompany the application. This fee varies on the type of game you wish to conduct. The application(s) are found on the Township’s website.